My first Alla Prima Painting.

Alla prima Maud Feally-web

 

Hey people, I had an A-Ha moment this weekend. Now I admit, I’m probably not the brightest light bulb in the chandelier, even though I like to think myself so at times. I’ve been painting in oil for close to six years now and it took me this long to figure this out. When I think about this it is still a little embarrassing with all the wealth of knowledge at your finger tips through the Internet.  Heres the story: I bought a block of oil painting paper last weekend so that I could experiment trying out different painting techniques without wasting a canvas board. I decided to try an alla prima painting, that is wet on wet that is painted in one sitting. Now, I’ve always have been bothered that it usually takes me a heck of a long time to “build-up” layers in a painting just to get it to look somewhat like the picture in my head , or my reference pictures that I use. It never really occurred to me to paint with the paints straight out of the tube without adding oil or other ingredients to make the paint follow better. Well I tried that this weekend, and I loved it. I guess the reason I never tried this is because in my head wet on wet painting was something Bob Ross would do to get his happy trees. Don’t get me wrong, I have respect for Mr. Ross, he built a huge business by painting on TV and selling his paints. Ask anyone who Bob Ross is and they had watched the guy with the afro  paint mountain streams within minutes, but he wasn’t considered a master painter. My picture of wet on wet painting has changed and I’ll probably use this technique on my other paintings and then go over them in glazes (this was my A-Ha moment). Now when I go back and look at all my favorite painters and see their work that they didn’t finish for some reason or another, I always wondered why the parts that were finished were rendered out to almost being the final painting, now I know why.

Now this painting isn’t perfect and there are mistakes in it that I can see, but I won’t say where. If you haven’t tried it yet, try it. It was a lot of fun and I will be doing this on my weekends instead of doing my pastel drawings, or I’ll change off every other week.

Thanks for looking in and stay creamy,

Bill

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Oil or Acrylic Painting

Leave a Reply

