You never know what will happen.

A few weeks ago as I opened my E-mail in-box in the early morning hours, I noticed an E-mail from an art director. I was intrigued and also a little annoyed, I had received E-mails before from people asking me to work for free. The old,”We can’t pay you now, but when the product starts making money we can pay you,” game. I considered deleting the mail before opening it, but I opened it and read it.  It was an art directer from Netflix in Ireland asking me if they could use one of my paintings as a backdrop. I was stunned and didn’t know what to say much less formulate a coherent reply to this person’s E-mail. I weight the pros and cons of letting them use it. I wouldn’t be getting paid for this was the first thought, but you don’t know where this could lead to was the next. I was certain they would be taking advantage of me, but I would get exposure (maybe). Then I heard a voice inside my head say this is what you wanted isn’t it? You’ve worked this hard all these years so people would want to used your work commercially. I then remembered a post from a renown artist, saying how he initially worked for almost nothing so he could get his foot in the door.

I decided to let them use it. So if you are watching the detective series Jack Taylor on Netflix and come across the next picture you know the back story. Maybe they won’t use it, maybe they will, I don’t know. Most likely it will only be shown for 3 seconds and thats it, if at all.

Thanks for looking in,

Bill

Victorian-Gothic-web

3 Comments

Filed under Blog

3 responses to “You never know what will happen.

  1. Pingback: You never know what will happen. | O LADO ESCURO DA LUA

  2. kemal

    gratuliation

Leave a Reply

