My Top Ten list of Paintings of Women

Hi People,

This will be a slightly different post this week, instead of me talking about myself and what I am doing lately, I wanted to make a top ten list of my favorite paintings of women. Now I like paintings of sleepy naked women that are reading books just as much as the next guy, but I wanted to make this list a little different; first, no sleepy naked women that are reading books. Second, the painting has to have a story, or the hint of a story. Third, no full nudity, I like cheese cake just as much as the next guy, but lets try to keep the niveau. Fourth, the artist has to be dead, with that I mean the painter is not among the living. That makes it harder for me, because artist like Dan Santos and Donato Giancola, have painted several of my favorite paintings of power women.

So here goes:

10. Magdalen with the Smoking Flame, by Georges de La Tour (courtesy of Wikigallery)

9. The Milkmaid, by Jan Mermeer Van Delft. (courtesy of Wikigallery)

 8. Selling Slaves in Rome, by Jean-Léon Gérôme (courtesy of Wikigallery)

Ok, I broke the rules for this one.

 7. A Flower Seller, by John William Godward  (courtesy of Wikigallery)

 6. A Coign Of Vantage, by Sir Lawrence Alma-Tadema (courtesy of Wikigallery)

5. The Gypsy Girl, by Pierre Auguste Renoir. (courtesy of Wikigallery)

 4. Madame X, by John Singer Sargent (courtesy of Wikigallery)

3. Destiny, by John William Waterhouse (courtesy of Wikigallery)

 2. The Little Marauders, by William-Adolphe Bouguereau

 1. Lullaby, by William-Adolphe Bouguereau (courtesy of Wikigallery)

Honourable mention:

 Egyptian Queen, by Frank Frezetta.

Because Frank Frazetta still ROCKS! (courtesy of the museum syndicate)

Thanks for taking a look and if you have any good paintings of women, please leave a comment.

Bill

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Off the record, Painting

Leave a Reply

