Using Thumbnails for composition

When I have an idea that I want to sketch it out. I usually make a couple of small sketches, thumbnails, and then ask my family which one they like better. You can usually find out with these small sketches which composition works better. I had an idea the other day that I wanted to follow, of a wizard in a room (castle) casting a spell. These thumbnails are nothing more then a really rough, quick sketch without to much detail, but you can see what will work and what will not work. The first thumbnail was sort of what I originally had in mind, but my wife pointed out you notice the table before your eye goes to the wizard, so I went with the second thumbnail and sketched this one out bigger. I didn’t like this one either so I had some other ideas and and worked these into the next sketch. Before I paint something I will usually sketch it two or three times before I set the brush to canvas.

Next week I hope I’ll finish the still life painting I showed last week. Bye for now and keep drawing,

Bill

1 Comment

Filed under Blog, Drawing

One response to “Using Thumbnails for composition

  1. Pingback: URL

Leave a Reply

