Oil Painting, WIP 2

Hi Everyone,

Here’s my update for this week of my first oil painting. Last week I shared my process on how I set up my work and start the underpainting. I couldn’t paint much this week now that it gets dark around here at 8 pm and I seriously have to think about getting a better lighting setup where I paint at home. I still need to tweek this a lot and the watch and chain are no where near finished.

I did manage to paint the first flesh-tones though and I’ll share my paint combinations on how to get them.

Light skin tones: White, red, yellow and just a little burnt umber (brown).

Medium skin tones: Red, yellow, yellow ochre and burnt umber.

Dark skin tones: red, burnt umber and a little blue.

Just play around with these and see what you come up with and if you have a different skin mixture it would be nice to hear from you in the comments.

Thanks for looking in and keep drawing,

Bill

Leave a comment

Filed under Work-in-Progress

Leave a Reply

